German Offshore Award 2011


On February 11th in 2011 the Senate of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the German Offshore Owners Association will invite for the 4th awards ceremony of the German Offshore Award in the City Hall of Hamburg. The reception with drinks and finger food will begin at 17 o'clock, the end of the event will be about 19:30 o'clock. The winner of the German Offshore Award will be announced by the Senate not until the evening of 11 February at the awards ceremony. Last year the Beluga from Boris Herrmann won the Senate award for victory in the Portimao Global Race 2009.

In addition to the "German Offshore Award" the "hanseboot Baltic IRC trophy" will also be awarded. This year the award has been obtained by FRAM XVI of Norway. Admission to the reception and price giving is free. Those who want to attend the reception may register binding on the website of our International Yacht Forum under The number of participants is limited, therefore registration does not entail automatically a right to receive an invitation.

Background information:

The "German Offshore Award" is a challenge trophy given by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg for the most successful German yacht in international ocean racing. The jury - combined of representatives of Hamburg's leading clubs - is nominating German yachts under the direction of the Hamburg Sailing Association and the meteorological advice of Dr. Meeno Schrader given in early January. All major ocean yachts that took part in high-level European offshore races in the past year were included in this evalution. For these boats, a percentage is calculated, composed of the number of participants and the result achieved. As a stormy Atlantic Regatta is a higher requirement than an activity during a lull shorter race, each race will be analyzed by a jury under the advice of the meteorologist Meeno Schrader and included in the evaluation. This result then will be revalued or devalued with a factor, and finally will be determined the winner.