Sunny Hanse Race 2013

Hanse Race 2013

14 yachts registered for the second edition of the Hanse race. This year, the gentleman's regatta coordinated by the Germann offshore Owners Association (GER-OO) visited the most beautiful cities of the Swedish East Coast.

Winner over all is SY "Jandia" with skipper Oliver Tessloff (SVAOe). The two-man crew earned the greatest respect of its competitors with smart tactical decisions and perseverance on the longer stages.

The 2nd over all goes to the beautiful classic yacht "Mistral" owned by Dieter Krügel. The 1938-built schooner from Nova Scotia was admired in the ports and marveled at by its competitors on the water: in a heavy wind, undeterred by gusts and seas, she sailed fast and with utmost grace towards the finish.

The first leg to Warnemünde started on Sunday, 30th of June in Kiel and is a first manifestation of the cooperation between Regattavereinigung Seesegeln (RVS) and the GER-OO, as it was counted as feeder race for the International German Championships. From Warnemünde, the first long-distance course to Sweden's most southern tip went to Ystad. It counts for the "Baltic Circuit"-regatta series. From Karlskrona the course followed along historical Hanseatic towns: Kalmar with its impressive Renaissance castle, the medieval town walls of Visby on Gotland..

Successfully tested last summer, the Hanse Race was again taking place without a classic regatta office. Much less organizational effort and a greater flexibility have again proven to be a big plus for the crews. Spur-of-the-moment decisions like a side trip to Bornholm for all ships were agreed upon during barbecue. The start and finish times were taken by the sailors themselves - via a smartphone photo. Each yacht could archive its course in a digital logbook with a newly developed tracking app by SAILBOOK. The photos were evaluated by means of the GPS data stored. Itineraries on the digital map and individual notes were also share via Facebook or email with the folks back home.

The analysis of the results is made by SAILBOOK in real time. For the sailor, the eligible rating systems were ORC, IRC, DH, and SRS. Not every yacht had to sail all legs, the participants combined the routes independantly. The point system for the overall victory is based on ORC time-on-time offshore. The prize-giving-ceremony is held in Hamburg Town Hall in February 2014.